Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Wireless PLC Device Scan Not Working on Mac/Sierra

    Model :

    Hardware Version :

    Firmware Version :

    ISP : [/COLOR]

    Hi, I wondered if anyone might be able to help me here.

    I have 2 x TP-LINK WPA4220 PLA's in the house and an app called Wireless PLC Device Scan on my Mac that when opened used to scan my network, find the PLA's and allow me to connect to them and open the web UI to make admin changes etc.

    Now the app, Wireless PLC Device Scan, keeps crashing on open since I updated my Macs to macOS Sierra and I cannot connect to the PLA's, althoug the PLA's continue to work.

    I wondered if anyone else had experienced this and what the solution might be? Tech support/live chat are, with respect, not very helpful here right now.

    Or if anyone could suggest a way I could connect to the PLA's admin UI via my browser, that would be perfect.

    Many thanks in advance for any help!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    1

    Same problem here

    Sorry that I can't be of any help for this probelm....but I am having the same issue, so jumping in here to see if anyone can help us out!

    Thanks for any light that can be shed!

  3. #3
    Same problem here - I have the TL-WPA4230P and the Wireless Scan program just crashes out .... I'm running macOS Sierra 10.12.1

  4. #4
    Try the following:
    Start TERMINAL
    then type: ifconfig | grep broadcast
    then type: arp -a
    You will get a list of IP addresses in use on your network. One of them will be the TP-LINK device
    If you open a browser and type: http://IP address (e.g. http://192.168.0.8)
    When you select the correct IP address you should get the TP-LINK device and you'll get the log on screen.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.nevednats View Post
    Try the following:
    Start TERMINAL
    then type: ifconfig | grep broadcast
    then type: arp -a
    You will get a list of IP addresses in use on your network. One of them will be the TP-LINK device
    If you open a browser and type: http://IP address (e.g. http://192.168.0.8)
    When you select the correct IP address you should get the TP-LINK device and you'll get the log on screen.
    Thank you for this. I tried this but none of the IPs in the list were the PLA's however I can confirm they are currently plugged in and working.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2

    Any fix yet?

    I'm having the same problem on this with Wireless PLC Scan on Sierra (I really wish I'd never bother upgrading now).

    Opening it up, the program just closes after a while. Has anyone else got a way I can access the settings at all? I need to get this sorted quite urgently. Today if possible.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2
    Anyone got a fix to this now? I really wish I'd never upgraded to Sierra, its caused nothing but problems. I really need to get into the settings.

  8. #8
    If you have an IOS/Android device download an app called FING - when I ran the app it found the TP-Link device and provided an IP address which I could then use to enter http://nnn.nnn.n.n to access the TP-Link device.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.nevednats View Post
    If you have an IOS/Android device download an app called FING - when I ran the app it found the TP-Link device and provided an IP address which I could then use to enter http://nnn.nnn.n.n to access the TP-Link device.
    This is a really cool app! Thanks for letting us know about it. However, the PLA (or PLCs whatever we call them) are not showing up on it! Any thoughts as to why that would be?

    I have also been in touch with TP Link regarding the broken scan utility, but it would appear they really couldn't care very much.

  10. #10
    PLCs do not have IP addresses to begin with. They can only be found by PLC utility programs that use the specific protocol to talk to PLC devices.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    Come on TP-Link, this is ridiculous that it is still not fixed, I can administrate my devices

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1

    Still crash on Mac Sierra 10.12.5

    Still crash on Mac Sierra 10.12.5, more than half year the problem not being fixed.
    It seems to me TP-Link abandon Mac users.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1
    Today a customer of mine complained about poor internet performance. His TP-LINK PLC has been operating on channel 11 for most of a year, and he had recently installed one of those damnable HP printers that shrieks all day on channel 11 and can't be disabled. I attempted to reconfigure his TP-LINK to another channel, only to find that the Mac configuration tool could no longer detect any TP-LINK devices (despite the fact that I running directly off its WiFi). This is unacceptable.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Copyright 1996-2017 TP-LINK Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.