Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread

Message says "Device is bound to another user account"

Model :

Hardware Version :

Firmware Version :

ISP : [/COLOR]

Newbie here. I successfully set up one device (called Plug 1). Tried setting up a second device (called Noise Machine). Device is set up but when I tried to enable remote control, I received a pop-up message stating "Remote control disabled. This device is bound to another user account".

What am I doing wrong? I can't tie it to Alexa unless I can get remote control enabled.

Thanks in advance.

I got this error at one point in setting my Smartplugs up. However, I did actually have them tied to my first Kasa account, which I then made a second account. I got rid of it by doing a Factory Reset on the plug. I would suggest when you set the Smartplug up, make sure your Smart Device is on the same network you are putting the Smartplug on.

I've just bought an HS110 second hand. I've set it up as per the instructions and have Local control via my Android phone. However, I need Remote Control to use Alexa.
    When I set the Remote Control to ON, I get the message "This Device is bound to another user account. We cannot activate the remote control function on this device through your account. You can perform a factory reset to remove account association".

I have tried Factory Reset several times, but I still get the same message when I set up the plug again.

Is there any other way to unbind the account?
    Is there any other way to factory reset the plug beside the 10 second hold of the top button?

Suggestions please!

Junior Member rnzf00 is on a distinguished road
    having the same issue - anyone have any ideas?

Junior Member DH1981 is on a distinguished road

"Remote Control is disabled because the device belongs to a different account."