Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    The firmware won't update

    Region : France

    Model : TD-W8961ND

    Hardware Version : V2

    Firmware Version : 2.0.0 Build 120222 Rel.08176

    ISP :


    Hello,
    I've just tried to upgrade the firmware of my router, everything seems to go well, but when I go to Device Info I find the same version, I restart it but in vain.
    I want to upgrade after Avast showed me this error msg.
    thanks in advance
    Name:  Avast Home Network Security.JPG
Views: 0
Size:  36.6 KB
    Last edited by uutommi; 07-12-2017 at 08:34.

  2. #2
    Members Ada is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,137
    What's the firmware version you downloaded? Did you restore it to factory defaults and reconfigure it? Some firmwares will take effect after that.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Ada View Post
    What's the firmware version you downloaded? Did you restore it to factory defaults and reconfigure it? Some firmwares will take effect after that.
    the version is : 2.0.0 Build 120222 Rel.08176.
    I also tried restart with factory defaults, but nothing happens.

  4. #4
    the version is 2.0.0 Build 120222 Rel.08176
    I restarted with factory defaults

  5. #5
    Members Ada is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,137
    You misunderstand what I mean... What's the firmware version you tried to download and upgrade? Can you provide a link?

  6. #6
    I downloaded and upgraded with this one :

    TD-W8961ND_V2_120427
    Published Date 4/27/2012

  7. #7
    Members Ada is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,137
    Try following steps:
    1. Click Start -> Run to launch the command line interface.
    2. In the text box, please input cmd.
    3. In the command line interface, please input telnet 192.168.1.1
    For Windows Vista & 7, please go to “Control Panel – Program – Turn on/off Windows Feature”, Enable “Telnet Client” service.
    4. Input your username and password: admin admin
    5. Input the command sys modelcheck off.
    6. Now go to the web page and upgrade the new firmware.
    7. After upgrade/reboot, go to “SysRestart” to restore factory default once, or the new firmware(function) won’t take affect

  8. #8
    Many thanks for you reply Ada.
    By the way, I have windows 8.1.
    When I type 'cmd' in run and then type 'telnet 192.168.1.1' it doesn't work

    Name:  cmd.JPG
Views: 0
Size:  30.0 KB

    Can I use the same method like windows 7?
    let's suppose if the update is successful, is there any harm in restoring my current settings from a backup instead of inserting them manually?
    Last edited by NourinE; 10-31-2014 at 22:46.

  9. #9
    Members Ada is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,137
    Telnet doesn't work because it is not enabled I think. Start—>Control Panel—>programs and Features-- Turn Windows Features on or off. Choose telnet client, Press OK.
    It should not but some special firmware may need to reconfigure manually.

  10. #10
    thank you so much for your replies. I'll try and tell you the result.

  11. #11
    many thanks Ada, it really worked I just had to restart after enabling Telnet Service before the upgrade.
    thank you again.
    but avast is still displaying the same message
    Last edited by NourinE; 11-03-2014 at 23:19.

  12. #12

  13. #13
    I already have the same settings:



    Maybe that is the security problem detected by Avast.

  14. #14
    Junior Member hopakola is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1
    Ada thank you very much that really worked and I upgraded my router easily .


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Copyright 1996-2017 TP-LINK Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.