Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436

    Cool CPE210/510: new firmware 2.1.11 released today (includes KRACK fix)

    A new firmware 2.1.11 Build 20171228 Rel. 72837 for CPEs has been released today. Although it is listed as firmware for HW version 3, its FW version is 2.x and it installed fine on my CPE210 HW v1.0 and CPE510 HW v1.1.

    From the release notes:
    1. Fixed the WPA2 vulnerability.
    2. Improved management VLAN performance.
    3. Fixed the bug that sometimes the image can not be uploaded normally when using IE8.
    4. Improved web UI display.
    5. Fixed the bug that the "set source" can not be configured as a subnet range in SNMP.

    Download links:
    http://www.tp-link.com/de/download/CPE510_V3.html#Firmware
    http://www.tp-link.com/de/download/C....html#Firmware

    Note that the CPE210 firmware is for HW v3 and doesn't install on HW v1.0. However, I could install the CPE510 firmware also on CPE210 HW v1.0 as usual. For CPE210 HW v2/3 your mileage may vary.

  2. #2
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    CPE510's Pharos firmware also installs on my WBS210 HW v1.20. Seems to work fine so far.

    I don't like the firmware and version naming scheme of TP-Link.

    - Why shows the ZIP archive name a v3 version number, albeit firmware is actually v2 and even can be installed on HW v1?

    - Why isn't the firmware name "Pharos_v..." rather than "CPE510_v..." if it installs fine on any other Pharos device, too?

    This definitely is something TP-Link could improve (together with a single web page listing latest firmware versions for all business-class wireless products).

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    4. Improved web UI display.
    Didn't notice **any** UI changes after a quick test...did anyone?

  4. #4
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by RTouris View Post
    Didn't notice **any** UI changes after a quick test...did anyone?
    There have been issues with older Safari browser versions in FW 2.1.6, which now should be fixed in 2.1.11.

  5. #5
    how about changing the font size in survey, they sure are taking their sweet time with this one :/

  6. #6
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by RTouris View Post
    how about changing the font size in survey, they sure are taking their sweet time with this one :/
    Still waiting for this one.

    Also, spectrum analysis is unusable in CPE210 without a change to narrow the frequency spectrum (like it is possible in CPE510 with selection list).
    Maybe we should open tickets every month or so to speed up fixes of those issues!

  7. #7
    fwiw I've never had a successful escalation of ANY ticket case opened with TP-Link, ever

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    Also, spectrum analysis is unusable in CPE210 without a change to narrow the frequency spectrum (like it is possible in CPE510 with selection list).
    Maybe we should open tickets every month or so to speed up fixes of those issues!
    Was this bug tested with 2.1.11 Build 20171228 Rel. 72837? didn't realize that

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    A new firmware 2.1.11 Build 20171228 Rel. 72837 for CPEs has been released today. Although it is listed as firmware for HW version 3, its FW version is 2.x and it installed fine on my CPE210 HW v1.0 and CPE510 HW v1.1.
    ...
    Note that the CPE210 firmware is for HW v3 and doesn't install on HW v1.0. However, I could install the CPE510 firmware also on CPE210 HW v1.0 as usual. For CPE210 HW v2/3 your mileage may vary.
    I don't understand your first and last sentences? Aren't they in contradiction?
    At first you say ... installed fine on my CPE210 HW v1.0..., and at the end
    you say ...doesn't install on HW v1.0...

    So which is true? I have CPE210 v.1.0 and could I try this new fw or not?

  10. #10
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by ali_dzi View Post
    I don't understand your first and last sentences? Aren't they in contradiction?
    At first you say ... installed fine on my CPE210 HW v1.0..., and at the end
    you say ...doesn't install on HW v1.0...

    So which is true? I have CPE210 v.1.0 and could I try this new fw or not?
    CPE210 hardware v1 -> use the CPE510 v3 firmware image (it's actually v2.1.11, not v3 as the ZIP archive name suggests).
    CPE210 hardware v2/v3 -> use the CPE210 v3 firmware image (which also is v2.1.11, but only for CPE210 HW v2 or v3).

  11. #11
    Junior Member alamodein is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    2

    Please help update stuck

    Dear Members

    I was running 2.1.6 on CPE510v1.

    However I had one issue that client CPE reboots whenever I access any webpage even when I access its configuration page

    So to isolate issue, I reset the CPE and updated the firmware to 2.1.11 (v3) from the link given above

    It got stuck at 76 percent and cpe510 Is not accessible any more.
    Please see screen shot

    How I proceed now, is CPE bricked already?

    Thanks
    Attached Images  

  12. #12
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    Did you do the update by wired connection or wirelessly? Are you sure the power wasn't removed/glitching during the update?

    If it's bricked, see https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link...510#debricking for a way to save it from trash.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Copyright 1996-2018 TP-LINK Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.