Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1

    Bridge mode update issues TP_Pharos_V2.1.6_170908

    Model :

    Hardware Version :

    Firmware Version :

    ISP : [/COLOR]

    I just wanted to say if any of the forum here has the same problem as in the update of wsb510 in bridge mode, the problem is that it is only falling after some time, TP_Pharos_V2.1.6_170908 after updating to this moment the equipment is falling to connection with bridge mode clients

  2. #2
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    Quote Originally Posted by edu3com View Post
    I just wanted to say if any of the forum here has the same problem as in the update of wsb510 in bridge mode, the problem is that it is only falling after some time, TP_Pharos_V2.1.6_170908 after updating to this moment the equipment is falling to connection with bridge mode clients
    Bridge mode works perfectly with my two CPE510, both at firmware v2.1.6, same firmware file as for WBS510. Do you use only Pharos devices to connect or also smart phones/tablets/laptops as clients of the bridge's AP?

    But depending on the environment there can be problems regarding connections of clients to WBS. See http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread....ng-for-a-while for a beta firmware which is supposed to fix this.
    Last edited by R1D2; 12-10-2017 at 02:10.

  3. #3

    Same problem

    Quote Originally Posted by edu3com View Post
    Model :

    Hardware Version :

    Firmware Version :

    ISP : [/COLOR]

    I just wanted to say if any of the forum here has the same problem as in the update of wsb510 in bridge mode, the problem is that it is only falling after some time, TP_Pharos_V2.1.6_170908 after updating to this moment the equipment is falling to connection with bridge mode clients
    After updating to 2.1.6 (from original 1.30), my CPE210 v1.1 hangs, usually in peroiod of next 24hrs.
    It starts constantly rebooting. It is connected with ethernet to desktop PC, and I get message that
    LAN is disconnected/connected/disconected...etc, and I can't login until I reset it manually.

    It is in WLAN bridge mode, and it works fine, until it starts rebooting. I don't know why, so I will try
    now getting back to older firmware. Unfortunately, there is no original 1.30 fw, the oldest one is 2.00,
    which I am using during writing this post.

  4. #4
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    Quote Originally Posted by ali_dzi View Post
    I don't know why, so I will try
    now getting back to older firmware. Unfortunately, there is no original 1.30 fw, the oldest one is 2.00,
    which I am using during writing this post.
    Here you can download firmware v1.33 P9 beta (adds RADIUS authentication) dated 2016/07/13:

    http://tp-link-support.de/firmware/C...betaRADIUS.zip

    If this fixes your problems, let us know please. But note that this firmware has a slower web UI compared to v2.x.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    Here you can download firmware v1.33 P9 beta (adds RADIUS authentication) dated 2016/07/13:

    http://tp-link-support.de/firmware/C...betaRADIUS.zip

    If this fixes your problems, let us know please. But note that this firmware has a slower web UI compared to v2.x.
    Thx, but version 2.00 works fine for now (no hangs for days). I'll also try 2.1.0, and then once again back to "bad" 2.1.6 to confirm my problems.
    It is important to know that 2.00 is OK. I have to manage 7 of those, so I have to be sure which fw is good.

    What iritates me is that I can't find what are the diferences between fw versions.
    There is no text like "WHAT IS NEW?" (or I can't find it).

  6. #6
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    Quote Originally Posted by ali_dzi View Post
    There is no text like "WHAT IS NEW?" (or I can't find it).
    Sure it is, see "Modifications and Bug Fixes" on page http://www.tp-link.com/us/download/CPE210.html#Firmware.

    Firmware 2.1.6 works stable with my Pharos devices.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    Sure it is, see "Modifications and Bug Fixes" on page http://www.tp-link.com/us/download/CPE210.html#Firmware.

    Firmware 2.1.6 works stable with my Pharos devices.
    Well, not with mine! Obviously I have done wrong changing firmware from original 1.30.
    Version 2.1.0 also hangs, but in different way than 2.1.6. It just stops working
    (only Power Led is ON) and I can't access to it any way.

    I I'll go back to fw 2.0.0, which has been OK (luckly, since there is no download for original 1.30).
    Now I'am in fear to change fw for other APs (they are all on original 1.30) since I can't joke arround
    with something what is allready "in production".

    This brings me in serious doubt about purchasing TP-LINK devices next time, since this test one
    works worse with upgraded firmwares than with original. And that should not happen!
    Last edited by ali_dzi; 01-22-2018 at 15:56.

  8. #8
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    Quote Originally Posted by ali_dzi View Post
    Well, not with mine! Obviously I have done wrong changing firmware from original 1.30.
    Ok, so what is your problem? I told you where you can find v1.33, which is v1.30 with RADIUS extension.

    If you insist to downgrade to v1.30 you might ask TP-Link support for it. And no, I'm not from TP-Link, but a user of a dozen CPEs HW v1.1 all running fine with FW 2.6.1, so it makes no sense to tell me what you will buy or not in the future.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    Ok, so what is your problem? I told you where you can find v1.33, which is v1.30 with RADIUS extension.

    If you insist to downgrade to v1.30 you might ask TP-Link support for it. And no, I'm not from TP-Link, but a user of a dozen CPEs HW v1.1 all running fine with FW 2.6.1, so it makes no sense to tell me what you will buy or not in the future.
    Well, please dont't be mad at me, I don't mean anything bad to you or anyone else, working or not working in TP-Link.
    We are all here to help each other if we can. And my comment about buying or not is not only for you but for all the others
    who maybe have (or will have) same problem.

    I belive that other people (as you mentioned) have no problems with CPE210 and fw. 2.6.1, but I do, and it is not some
    special configuration that I mess arround with, it is just Client or Bridge mode without any special settings and it hangs
    in period of 24hrs (with fw 2.1.0 and 2.1.6), sending or not sending data. As you suggest, there is fw 1.33, but I am
    suspicious since those 2 official firmwares are not working as they are supposed to, and 2.00 is OK for me.

    Best regards.

  10. #10
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    In post #3 you asked for the original firmware 1.30 since 2.1.6 (not 2.6.1, sorry, typo) doesn't work and no older firmware then 2.0 is officially available. Maybe I don't still get it which version you actually are searching for when looking for "the original software" (which was 1.30 for your CPE v1.1), but the 2.0.x and 2.1.x branches are still offered on TP-Link's support sites. If I write "v2.1.6 works with my CPEs", I tested this in client and bridge modes.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    In post #3 you asked for the original firmware 1.30 since 2.1.6 (not 2.6.1, sorry, typo) doesn't work and no older firmware then 2.0 is officially available. Maybe I don't still get it which version you actually are searching for when looking for "the original software" (which was 1.30 for your CPE v1.1), but the 2.0.x and 2.1.x branches are still offered on TP-Link's support sites. If I write "v2.1.6 works with my CPEs", I tested this in client and bridge modes.
    You are right, there was orginaly 1.30, which I can't find anywhere.
    I have tried 1.33, which you proposed as the closest one to original
    1.30 but it still makes me a trouble. And going back to 2.0.0 also
    made a problem of hanging in bridge mode! So obviously, something
    is wrong with my device, not with firmware(s).

    It just hangs in bridge mode, where I receive WLAN&LAN from my main
    SSID, and creates another CPE's SSID to resend the same WLAN&LAN.
    It is all happenning indoors, few meters appart, so there are no outdoor
    "bad conditions". It hangs with every firmware in this bridge mode.

    Don't know what else to check, I need it in bridge mode (receive one
    wifi and create another wifi). It hangs usually after few hours. I test it
    using video from few webcams on internet, and constantly pinging
    CPE (to record the moment of hanging).

  12. #12
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    You could open a ticket with TP-Link if the hardware is broken. But note that for indoor tests the distance between two CPEs should be at least a few meters (>= 10m) to not overload the receiver and the CPEs have to be aligned to each other even over such a short distance.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    You could open a ticket with TP-Link if the hardware is broken. But note that for indoor tests the distance between two CPEs should be at least a few meters (>= 10m) to not overload the receiver and the CPEs have to be aligned to each other even over such a short distance.
    I'm testing this with just ONE CPE210. It connects to my internet/lan router (using WiFi)
    and forwards that to other PCs/notebooks/smartphones. It's not optimal for that usage,
    I know, but that's what I have inherreted from other administrators before me.

  14. #14
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,638
    This makes things even worser: the CPE has directional antennas, your internet WiFi router has omnidirectional antennas. The CPEs are really fine for directional links, but are not so well suited for omni antennas, not because they can't find the WiFi network, but because you have to align the directional antenna straight to the omni antennas of your WiFi router (and this direction then will be the only useable area for bridging/repeating the WiFi signal, too, which might not make much sense!).

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by R1D2 View Post
    This makes things even worser: the CPE has directional antennas, your internet WiFi router has omnidirectional antennas. The CPEs are really fine for directional links, but are not so well suited for omni antennas, not because they can't find the WiFi network, but because you have to align the directional antenna straight to the omni antennas of your WiFi router (and this direction then will be the only useable area for bridging/repeating the WiFi signal, too, which might not make much sense!).
    I agree completely with this, but what I can do, I have to manage things with this what I have.
    In other words, there is NO MONEY for new things in this segment. But anyway, why should
    this missusage of directional AP result with hanging? There is an article about connecting omni-
    directional antenna to CPE210 and as I see it, it is a hardware work only (opening case and
    soldering antenna wire to board). No software adaptation at all, and it works (as they say). It is on
    some German site, don't know the link, but as I remember I have found it on Open-WRT site.

    So again, why should software hang? Does it overload by trying to do some corrections, which are
    impossible to get (since it's "directional to omni" connection)? Can I somehow ask software not to do it,
    but to use the connection as is?

    BTW, I have just upgraded fw to 2.1.11 from CPE510, as you sugested, so I will check it in next few days.
    Last edited by ali_dzi; 01-30-2018 at 17:05.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Copyright 1996-2018 TP-LINK Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.