Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Difference between Managed and Smart switches

    Model :

    Hardware Version :

    Firmware Version :

    ISP : [/COLOR]

    Dear forum users,
    due to the fact that I'm looking for some new switch for my home, I'm taking a look to the tplink products.

    I'm serachine for one 16 port and some 8 port .... I see that the 8 port model is placed under smart switches.
    I cannot find the difference (in features) between managed and smart.

    Can someone help me find that differences ?


    Thank you
    Crippa Andrea

  2. #2
    I think one difference I found is SSH/Telnet administration, which is possible on "managed" ones and not is "smart" ones. That is the difference I found for mine.

  3. #3
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    Smart switches have limited management features, while managed switches provide full management features such as some L3-functions not present in smart switches (for example, DHCP servers) or GARP-VLAN-Registration-Protocol (GVRP) etc. See the specifications for the switches for an exact list of the differences.

    IMHO, smart switches are sufficient if you don't run a data center at home and of course most smart switches also have a CLI, which allows administration through SSH or telnet. Anyway, you should select a switch by checking for the features you actually will need.

  4. #4
    Junior Member captain! is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    8
    So, do "managed" switches enable actual security (https, ssh, etc.) while "smart" switches just allow anyone snooping traffic to get the plaintext credentials, sign in, and have full access to your critical network hardware?

  5. #5
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by captain! View Post
    So, do "managed" switches enable actual security (https, ssh, etc.) while "smart" switches just allow anyone snooping traffic to get the plaintext credentials, sign in, and have full access to your critical network hardware?
    As I wrote already, most smart switches also support HTTPS/SSH protocol for administration of the switch. Only "easy smart switches" don't offer those protocols, but are cheap and easy to use, intended for consumer's private LANs, which are always isolated from the Internet. You always get what you pay for.

    So, if you plan to use an easy smart switch on the public Internet (WAN) b/c you have a data center at home or are trying to become an ISP, then you did buy the wrong product.

    If you use the easy smart switch as intended as a consumer product for an isolated private LAN and "anyone" can access your private LAN to snoop on traffic therein, then your LAN is already exposed to the net and you have a much bigger problem than just your easy smart switch's web UI not using HTTPS.

    But as I wrote in another thread opened by you with the same question: even if an intruder gains access to your private LAN, he cannot snoop on traffic between your PC and your switch, since it is not a hub, but a switch, meaning that traffic between the PC and the switch is not visible and therefore cannot be captured or snooped on at any other port of the switch.

    If you are still worried about Joe Cracker "snooping on traffic" in your LAN, please proof your claim that the switch's HTTP protocol for its web UI is the cause for this, and describe in detail how an intruder into your LAN should be able to snoop on traffic between your PC and the switch's web UI.
    Last edited by R1D2; 12-09-2017 at 16:45.

  6. #6
    Thank you R1D2, your explaination is very complete.

    Regards
    Crippa Andrea

  7. #7
    Junior Member dinhthosq is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1
    If you use the easy smart switch as intended as a consumer product for an isolated private LAN and "anyone" can access your private LAN to snoop on traffic therein, then your LAN is already exposed to the net and you have a much bigger problem than just your easy smart switch's web UI not using HTTPS.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Copyright 1996-2018 TP-LINK Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.