Welcome to TP-LINK Tech Support Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Members wmet234 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    11

    Does TP-LINK offer a VPN Router with VLAN tagging/802.11q

    Model :

    Hardware Version :

    Firmware Version :

    ISP : [/COLOR]

    Hello,
    Does TP-LINK offer a VPN Router with VLAN tagging/802.11q built in? I would be using it with an EAP320 or similar device with 2 VLANS. VLAN1 for main network and VLAN2 for isolated guest wifi (internet only).

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Members R1D2 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,138
    Not yet, but somewhere in the BC Indoor APs subforum TP-Link informed about a new router to be released in the future, which will support a guest network (and almost certainly 802.11Q VLAN tagging) for the EAPs. Still waiting for this model.

  3. #3
    Yes, I was told that all the new version of the TP-Link SMB router will support 802.1Q VLAN.

  4. #4
    Members wmet234 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the feedback! Can anyone confirm the newer version addition of 802.11q support in TP-Link SMB Routers? This includes TP-LINK VPN Routers? (like the TL-ER6120)

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by wmet234 View Post
    Thanks for the feedback! Can anyone confirm the newer version addition of 802.11q support in TP-Link SMB Routers? This includes TP-LINK VPN Routers? (like the TL-ER6120)
    You can check emulator by yourself,please check the link as below:
    http://www.tp-link.com/resources/sim...0v2/index.html

    ER6120 V2 is the new hardware version.

  6. #6
    Members wmet234 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    11
    Maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but when looking at the TL-ER6120 V2 emulator, I don't see a DHCP server for each VLAN. Is this correct?

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Members Panda is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by wmet234 View Post
    Maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but when looking at the TL-ER6120 V2 emulator, I don't see a DHCP server for each VLAN. Is this correct?

    Thanks.
    Yes, you must mean such kind of L3 VLAN interface. But it can not do that, it only can support one DHCP server.

  8. #8
    Members wmet234 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for your feedback.

    Here is a thread discussing using L3 switch with TL-ER6120:

    http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread.php?100520-TL-ER6120-Need-802.11q-trunking-vlan-tagging.-What-switch-should-I-use

    which refers to this article in particular:

    How to configure Multiple SSIDs work with Multiple VLANs based on EAP products:
    http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread....n-EAP-products
    Last edited by wmet234; 10-16-2017 at 22:46.


 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Copyright 1996-2017 TP-LINK Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.