View Full Version : Unable to login at

12-29-2012, 06:06
Region : Canada

Model : TL-WR700N

Hardware Version : V1

Firmware Version :

ISP : ShawCable

I have just bought the device. I works fine as a AP out of the box. I want to use it as a repeater of my wireless network which uses a Linksys Simultaneous Dual Band N Router WRT400N

1. To do the setup, I have tried to login at I cannot do this (a) using a wireless connection to a Linksys router which is connected to the cable modem and (b) wired connection to the router which is connected to the cable modem. The attempts get a timeout messaage.

2. The default gateway is The DHCP server has the same address. My computer is using

3. I use McAfee Internet Security software.

What can I do to solve the problem?

12-29-2012, 07:13
1. Go to


2. Go to the section on Repeater, follow the link and you arrive at


The instructions are very clear. Although I have not reviewed, I suspect the instructions are of similar quality for setting the other modes.

I wish these instructions were included with the package or in the downloadable user guide. The user guide was useless.

The problem I had to address was to set the IP address for my computer to so that I can access the management utility at in order to programme the device as a repeater. I was having a problem because the IP address was automatically assigned by my wireless router (Linksys) which has an address of

In summary, the instructions explained how to temporarily set up the IP address for my computer so that I can connect to the TP-Link device (WRT700N). I was then able to log into the managmenet utility page and make the settings.

09-30-2014, 11:24
Hey stanflyer,

Thanks so much for posting this!

Totally worked for me and made my device usable.

Couldn't believe how I couldn't login for Repeater mode. Agree that they should of had more documentation out of the box.

Thanks again :cool: